Say hello to Bestselling Historical Romance writer, CINDY NORD…the USA Today Lifeblog ‘Recommended Read’ author of NO GREATER GLORY, a #1 Civil War Romance at Amazon for nearly a year, and book one in her four-book ‘The Cutteridge Series’. WITH OPEN ARMS, book two, debuts in August, 2014. Also, Cindy is pleased to be a contributing author in the delightful SCRIBBLING WOMEN & THE REAL-LIFE ROMANCE HEROES WHO LOVE THEM. She is a member of numerous writers groups, and her work has finaled or won countless times in competitions — including the prestigious Romance Writers of America National Golden Heart Contest. A luscious blend of history and romance, her stories meld both genres around fast-paced action and emotionally driven characters.
Please join Cindy at her Facebook page for her Monday-thru-Friday morning “Coffee Klatch” as well as on Twitter.
Indeed, true love awaits you in the writings of Cindy Nord.

With Open Arms

A war-weary ex-soldier. An untamable woman. Love doesn’t stand a chance in hell…
How can two mistrusting partners transform their fiery passion into happily-ever-after when all she knows how to do is fight? And all he wants is peace.
WITH OPEN ARMS (book two of my four-book, THE CUTTERIDGE SERIES). A #1 Bestselling Western Historical Romance at Samhain Publishing.

Read Excerpt...

No Greater Glory

Amid the carnage of war, he commandeers far more than just her home…
When a Union Army officer drenched in obligation collides with an unyielding southern widow locked inside her daily routines, not even the war raging around them is as explosive as the unexpected passion that erupts.
NO GREATER GLORY (book one of The Cutteridge Series). An RWA National Golden Heart finalist, a USA Today Lifeblog ‘Recommended Read’, & for nearly one full year, the #1 Civil War Romance at Amazon.

Read Excerpt...


The Christmas Wreath Tradition! ♥

Posted Dec 16 2014, 7:03 pm

aaa wreath 6


Ahh, what is a front door without a Christmas Wreath? Indeed that festive circlet of holiday cheer to welcome in family & friends. But we must return to the ancient Romans for the beginning where laurel wreaths were woven into a small garland & placed upon the heads to represent a person’s occupation, achievement, rank & status as well as a sign of victory.

aaa wreath 4


The first known Christmas wreaths dates back to 16th-century Germany where Lutherans utilized evergreen boughs to tell the Advent story via a circle which has no end. According to Encyclopedia Britannica, “During Advent, children at the mission school in Hamburg, would ask daily if Christmas had arrived. In 1839, a Protestant pastor built a large wooden ring (made out of an old cartwheel) with 20 small red and 4 large white candles. A small candle was lit successively every weekday during Advent. On Sundays, a large white candle was lit. The final white candle reflected Christmas Day.”


aaa wreath 7


By 1840, Queen Victoria and her beloved Prince from Germany brought sparkle & light to the Christmas home. She adored the idea of ‘decorating’ & that included the front doors of Windsor Castle where wreaths brought gaiety & color and garlands draped the doors and windows infusing the air with balsam. And so…a new tradition was born! Victorians embraced wholeheartedly the custom & designed their own elaborate wreaths made with all types of evergreen foliage including holly, ivy & yew, as well as fruit & pine cones.


aaa wreath 2


The evergreen symbolizes strength, as the boughs survive even the harshest of winters, thus even during the horrors of the Civil War in Virginia, the endurance of the Christmas Wreath and garland continued. Eventually, all homes on both sides of the big pond began hanging these decorative circlets on their doors. aaa wreath 5And, if Bay laurel is used, then the wreath is called a Laurel Wreath as a throwback to when the ancient Romans wore these garlands around their heads. So when y’all are ‘decking the halls’ this season…don’t forget the door. And, once again. we can thank those wily Victorians for thinking up THAT bit of holiday cheer.





Add a Comment

Follow Me!


Get Cindy's Newsletter

* = required field